Classic Festival in Circuito de Jerez

FIA Historic Formula One Championship, class included in the Classic meeting Festival programmed for next October in our track. We will also have a longest programme of parallel activities.

The most important National Racing Car, G.T. Spanish Championship, arrive again to Circuito de Jerez to celebrate during 13th and 14th October the penultimate round of the season in a thrilling final sprint where sure we will live in our track great duels as the contest closing.


Along with the Spanish G.T championship will come to Circuito de Jerez on 13th and 14th October the FIA Historic Formula One.

The FIA Historic Formula One Championship ™ is at the pinnacle of historic motorsport. Its fans get a taste of classic old school Formula 1 and thrill to the sights and sounds of the cars driven by legends such as Gilles Villeneuve, Nigel Mansell, Emerson Fittipaldi and Keke Rosberg. The Championship features the great Grand Prix cars raced between 1966 and 1985 re-creating the spectacle of the legendary 3 litre Formula 1 era on the great Race Circuits of the World.

The field covers a 20-year period of Formula 1 racing and, naturally, there is a vast speed differential between the elder cars such as Jackie Stewart’s Tyrrell 001 and the latter machines like the Steffan Johannsen Tyrrell 012 and Brabham BT49. To level the playing field, the championship is split into 4 classes according to age and design characteristics of the cars.

Drivers score points within their particular car’s class and all have the chance to claim the overall FIA trophy at the end of the season. In addition, all cars must run with a 40mm ground clearance, which effectively limits the downforce of the ground effect cars.

Motorsport’s governing body, the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA), recognised this important championship nominating HFO as the only official FIA Historic Formula One Championship™ in 1994 when it was known as Thoroughbred Grand Prix.

Since the accolade was granted, permission was also given to change the name to Historic Formula One and the Championship has gone from strength to strength. Over 50 drivers registered to become members of the Drivers’ Association over the last 2 years and starting grids average 25 cars.

More info in: